SBCA 2023 Annual Conference 

The SBCA 2023 Annual Conference will be held on March 9-10 in person at The George Washington University, Washington, DC, and March 13-14 online. The Society is now accepting proposals for the conference program. To be guaranteed consideration by the Program Committee, 

  • Submissions to present in person (or either, at the discretion of the Program Committee) must be received by October 31, 2022.

  • Submissions to present online only must be received by December 5, 2022.

Plenary sessions confirmed to date include:

James Heckman

Sherry Glied

Christian Gollier

James J. Heckman is the Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Chicago where he holds appointments in the Harris School of Public Policy and Law School and where he directs the Center for the Economics of Human Development.  In 2000, he shared the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for his development of theory and methods used in the analysis of individual or household behavior. His work on selective samples led him to develop methods (such as the Heckman correction) for overcoming statistical sample-selection problems.  His work encompasses cognitive skills acquired through education and on-the-job training as well as noncognitive skills such as perseverance and accountability.  His formidable body of research on the high returns to investments in young children has led to what has become popularly known as The Heckman Equation: Invest + Develop + Sustain = Gain. 

Sherry Glied is a research leader in the areas of health policy reform and mental health care. Furthermore, she has a distinguished career in academics and public service. She is currently the Dean of New York University’s Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service. Previously, she was Professor of Health Policy and Management at Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health, serving as Chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management for more than a decade. Her public service includes being the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the Department of Health and Human Services and serving as senior economist for health care and labor market policy on the President’s Council of Economic Advisers under Presidents Bush and Clinton. She has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Social Insurance, and served as a member of the Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking. In 2021, the Association of University Programs in Health Administration selected her as the recipient of the William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research. The following year, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences elected her as a 2022 Fellow. She holds a B.A. in economics from Yale University, an M.A. in economics from the University of Toronto, and a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard University.

Christian Gollier's research spans the fields of economics of uncertainty, environmental economics, finance , insurance, and cost-benefit analysis, with a particular interest in long-term sustainable effects. He founded the Toulouse School of Economics with Jean Tirole in 2007 and has been its director since 2009 (with a hiatus in 2015-2016). He has published more than a hundred articles in international scientific journals. He has also published 10 books on risk including "The Economics of Risk and Time" (MIT Press), which won the "Paul A. Samuelson Award (2001). In 2012, he published a book entitled "Pricing the Planet's Future" at Princeton University Press, which he presented at the "6th Arrow Lecture" at Columbia University. Christian Gollier is one of the authors of the 4th and 5th reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC, 2007 and 2013). In addition, he regularly advises several governments on their public investment evaluation policies. He is president of EAERE, the European Association of Environmental Economists. His recent book for the general public, "Le Climat après la fin du mois" (PUF 2019), deals with the importance of taking action in the face of climate change and has been a great success in France.

SBCA 2023 Program Committee

Henrik Andersson (Chair); Aaron Kearsley, Ann Wolverton, Arif Mamun, Benjamin Ouvrard, Brad Wong, Caroline Cecot, Clark Nardinelli, Craig Thornton, Daniel Acland, Daniel Herrera, Deborah Aiken, Euston Quah, Felipe Vasquez Lavin, Glenn Blomquist, Hua Wang, Jiakun Zheng, Joe Devlin, Jytte Nielsen, Kirsten Jensen, Lala Ma, Lisa Robinson, Marc Jeuland, Marian delos Angeles, Martin Koning, Monica Marcela Jaime Torres, Nellie Lew, Sandra Hoffmann, Shiqiu Zhang, Thomas Kniesner