SBCA hosts several online professional development workshops each year, led by distinguished experts. Topics range from basic skills to advanced methodological issues and specific policy applications.


Interested in volunteering to organize and lead a workshop? Applications are accepted at any time. See instructions and application form

2024 Professional Development Workshops

All times are U.S. Eastern.
All workshops are online via Zoom
and will be recorded.
Registrants will have access to the recordings for one (1) year.

  • Benefit-Cost Analysis for Beginners – January 2024
    Glenn Blomquist and David Weimer

  • Discounting for Benefit-Cost Analysis – April 2024
    Mark Freeman (Organizer)

  • Valuing Nonmarket Benefits – May 2024
    Catherine Kling (Organizer) 

  • Benefit-Cost Analysis for U.S. Regulations – October 2024
    Aliya Sassi (Organizer)

And more coming soon…

SBCA 2023 Professional Development Committee: Jennifer R. Baxter (Co-chair), Lisa A. Robinson (Co-chair), Charles Griffiths, Aaron Kearsley, Jason Price, David Weimer, and Brad Wong

We thank our 2023 workshop organizers and instructors for their substantial volunteer contributions to the Society and to the field: Vic Adamowicz (University of Alberta), Glenn C. Blomquist (University of Kentucky), Elizabeth Botkins (US Food and Drug Administration), Randall Brown (Mathematica), Chris Dockins (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency), Charles Griffiths (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency), Aaron Kearsley (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services), Don Kenkel (Cornell University), Cathy Kling (Cornell University), Nic Kuminoff (Arizona State University), Doug Meade (Inforum), Dan Phaneuf (University of Wisconsin), Jason Price (Industrial Economics), Elizabeth Quin (U.S. Food and Drug Administration), Anu Rangarajan (Mathematica), Aliya Sassi (U.S. Food and Drug Administration), I-Ling Elaine Shen (South Coast Air Quality Management District), Craig Thornton (Mathematica), Christian Vossler (University of Tennessee), David Watkins (University of Washington), David L. Weimer (University of Wisconsin–Madison), John Whitehead (Appalachian State University), and Brad Wong (Mettalytics).

Check back periodically for additional information and offerings.